Search ENP

Powered by Blogger.


Social Connect

Get it on Google Play

Upcoming Events

February, 2016:

Friday, February 20

ART247 Black and White Exhibition

March, 2016:

Advertise Your Event on ENP!
More info here

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

BY +Scott Leffler

Incumbent Republican Mayor Anne McCaffrey was elected to a four-year term as mayor by City of Lockport voters by a margin of 2,384 to 1,785 over Democrat Roger Sherrie.

City Treasurer Mike White, meanwhile, was ousted by a large margin, garnering 1,640 votes to the 2,454 of challenger, Democrat Sue Mawhiney.

Mawhiney, reached by phone said, she's "going to re-polish the procedures ... and I'm going to learn from the ground up."

She said she doesn't have any concerns about being a Democrat working with a Republican mayor. "I've said all along that it didn't matter who won, that I could work with either candidate."

In what would appear to be a rebuke of McCaffrey, however, voters turned down a referendum that would change the duties of the treasurer position by a total of 2,216 to 1,532.

In other city races, incumbents found themselves on the short end of the stick, with the exception of Alderwoman Anita Mullane who had the unique position of incumbency and non-incumbency at the same time. Mullane was elected a year ago in a special election to fill the seat, which was vacated by Ron Franco. Franco, a Republican, had been appointed to the seat by McCaffrey when McCaffrey took over as mayor upon Mike Tucker's resignation.

Mullane, a Democrat, had 685 votes to the 362 received by her Republican opponent Maria Updegraph. The race was the only alderman race in the city that had any real controversy to it as an anti-Mullane mailer became a topic for debate. The mailer claimed that Mullane didn't support the Lockport Fire Department. The firefighters union, though, issued a letter denouncing the mailer and proclaiming their support for Mullane.

The city's other incumbent aldermen -- Joe Kibler, Kitty Fogle and Pat Schrader -- were all defeated. Kibler lost to Democrat Joe O'Shaughnessy by a tally of 2,136 to 1,881 in the at-large contest. Third-Ward Alderwoman Fogle, who was defeated in the GOP primary but carried on with two minor party lines had 147 votes compared to 414 for Republican Mark Devine. Democrat Zac Parker had 128 votes. Schrader carried 280 votes in the 4th Ward contest against David Wohleben, who had 435 votes.

In the city's First Ward, Republican Joe Oates bested Democrat Ed Tracy by a total of 387 to 283. Jennifer D'Andrea-Terreri, who dropped out of the race on Oct. 9 and endorsed Oates, still received 56 votes. In the Fifth-Ward race, Democrat Rick Abbott won over Republican Allan Jack by a score of 547 to 279.

The race for county clerk went to Republican Joe Jastrzemski, who had 17,542 votes to 14,158 for Democrat Jamie Moxham. Green Party candidate Danielle Rotolo had 984 votes.

Republicans retained all five East Niagara County Legislature seats. In the 11th District, Tony Nemi had 1,727 votes to 799 for Democratic challenger Russell DeFranco. In the 12th District, William Collins had 816 votes to 385 for Bill Nye. David Mongielo, who dropped out of the race in mid-October, had 102 votes. The 13th District saw Keith McNall hold off challenger Robert Drury by a tally of 1,578 to 1292. Incumbent Legislators John Syracuse and Michael Hill were unopposed in the 14th and 15th Districts.

In the Hartland Town Justice race, Joanne Sullivan and Brian Gross won the pair of seats with 359 and 287 votes respectively.  Lisa Trakas had 218 votes.

Town of Lockport races were all uncontested. Mark Crocker will be the next supervisor, while the town board seats were retained by Tom Keough and Paul Siejak. Leonard Tilney Jr. will remain town justice.

Likewise, Newfane races were all uncontested. Timothy Horanburg was re-elected supervisor. Mickey Kramp will remain town clerk. Bruce Barnes will remain town justice, while the town board seats went to Laura Rutland and Troy Barnes. Superintendent of Highways will be Jon Miller, and Terri Iannucci will be the receiver of taxes and assessments.

Jennifer Beiber will remain supervisor in the Town of Royalton. Lee Criswell and Bradley Rehwaldt will hold the council seats. James Spark will be superintendent of highways.

In Somerset, Supervisor Dan Engert bested Paul Oliveria by a tally of 377-209. Jeff Dewart and Randall Wayner won the two council seats, while Ruth Wendler is unopposed as tax collector.

East Niagara Post is the official media sponsor of Hockey Day in Lockport.


Post a Comment

Comments are always appreciated. Your comment will be reviewed for approval before being made public.